TRUE LIES

Ortiz may say he didnt use roids, but baseball fans arent as naive as he thinks they are

Ortiz may say he didn't use roids', but baseball fans aren't as naive as he thinks they are

David Ortiz held a press conference today in regards to accusations stemming from a failed test in 2003. 

Let me rephrase that…Today, David Ortiz held a press conference because he cheated by taking steroids to save his career after he was cut by the Minnesota Twins.

In the conference he addressed the issue (excerpts from ESPN.com)

“I’m not here to make excuses or anything,” Ortiz said Saturday during a news conference at Yankee Stadium. “I want to apologize to the fans for the distraction, my teammates, my manager. We go into a situation now, it was a nightmare to me.

“I’m one of the guys, I think about the fans, it wouldn’t be as good as it is without the fans. People look at me as a guy who hit the ball, but I try to do things the right way.”

“I definitely was a little bit careless,” Ortiz said Saturday. “I was buying supplements and vitamins over the counter … but I never buy steroids or use steroids.”

Sure David, I believe you as much as I believed Mark McGwire.  Listening to you use the overplayed “supplements” excuse is worse than hearing that you actually did steroids.  You are only digging yourself deeper into the hole you were already in.

You’re “not making excuses“….except for your statements, which were all excuses.

Don’t try to play the fan favorite card either, that doesn’t excuse what you did.  Some baseball fans may accept your apology, but this one won’t. 

For those of you thinking I am bashing Ortiz because he is on Boston, don’t worry, I have bashed A-Rod too.

Let’s just keep his statements in mind as we watch him dwindle into nothing more than a has-been. 

Without steroids, he would just be a never-was.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

